The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CITIC RESOURCES HOLDINGS LIMITED

(incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
Website: www.citicresources.com
(Stock Code: 1205)

INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

This announcement is made pursuant to Rules 3.11 and 3.23 of the Listing Rules in respect of the requirements under the Listing Rules as to a listed issuer's independent non-executive directors and audit committee.

Reference is made to the requirement pursuant to Rule 3.10(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") for a listed issuer to have at least three independent non-executive directors and the requirement pursuant to Rule 3.21 for a listed issuer to establish an audit committee comprising a minimum of three non-executive directors. A listed issuer is required under Rule 3.19 to meet these requirements by 30 September 2004.

As at the date of this announcement, the independent non-executive directors of CITIC Resources Holdings Limited (the "Company") are Mr. Fan Ren Da, Anthony and Mr. Tsang Link Carl, Brian, both of whom comprise the Company's audit committee. The Company has made its best efforts to identify an additional person to be an independent non-executive director of the Company and who will also be appointed to the Company's audit committee, however it has been difficult to identify a suitable person and additional time is required by the Company to do so.

The Company shall appoint an additional independent non-executive director to meet the requirements set out in Rule 3.10(1) and Rule 3.21 as soon as practicable.

By Order of the Board
CITIC Resources Holdings Limited
Peter Kwok Viem
Chairman

Hong Kong, 5 October 2004

As at the date hereof, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Kwok Viem, Peter, Mr. Ma Ting Hung, Ms. Li So Mui, Mr. Mi Zengxin, Mr. Qiu Yiyong, Mr. Sun Xinguo, Mr. Zeng Chen and Mr. Zhang Jijing and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Fan Ren Da, Anthony and Mr. Tsang Link Carl, Brian.